Skip to content

It’s A Hoosiers-Happy League

October 19, 2011

CAA coaches are modern-day Norman Dales

You can tell a lot about a person by the movies they watch and rewatch. Like, if you were on a first date with a girl who said her favorite flick was Gigli, wouldn’t you terminate the potential relationship right there?

You can’t sever ties with your favorite CAA coach if you don’t like his movie selection, but it’s good to know where he stands.

While most of the other reporters at CAA Media Day were busy asking coaches about depth charts and parity, I was more curious about movies and books.  Here’s what everybody is watching (the book  club will be discussed another day).

FAVORITE BASKETBALL MOVIE:

5 – Hoosiers (Matt Brady, Mo Cassara, Bill Coen, Bruiser Flint, Buzz Peterson, Tony Shaver)

“I could watch that over and over and over,” said Buzz Peterson, who we also learned watches the DVD box set of the Andy Griffith show (purchased for more than $300, to his wife’s chagrin) over and over – sometimes instead of game film if he doesn’t feel like compounding a loss with more disappointment.  “My son and I watched [Hoosiers]. It’s motivation, just inspiring to watch that thing over and over.”

“How can you not go with Hooisers?” asked Coen, whose staff was ready to deport me to Guadeloupe when I suggested – gasp! – that maybe Hoosiers is a little overrated. “Just because it’s basketball in its pure form.  It’s high school basketball, it’s small vs. big, it’s David vs. Goliath. Some great acting and some great emotions.”

2 – None (Ron Hunter, Blaine Taylor)

“I don’t like basketball movies,” Taylor said. “They’re all fakies.” Ok.

How about you Mr. Hunter?

“There’s only one show I’ve ever watched; it’s American Idol. I don’t watch SportsCenter or anything. … You know why I like it? I love competing. I love competition.”

So he’s never seen a basketball movie but he’s seen General Larry Platt pull his Pants On The Ground?  Hunter said his all-time favorite Idol contestant was Season 2 victor Ruben Studdard. And Hunter himself claims to have pipes.

“I told my guys, we get to the point where we get to theNCAA Tournament, I’ll sing the national anthem.”

1 – Love & Basketball ( Monte Ross)

“I love the part at the end when [protagonist Quincy McCall, played by Omar Epps] says to [love interest Monica Wright], ‘Double or nothing.’”

Solid movie with a great late-80s R&B song, I Want To Be Your Man by Roger, on its soundtrack.

Ross’ assessment of Hoosiers: “ That’s overrated.” Join me in Guadeloupe, Monte!

1 – The Fish That Saved Pittsburgh (Paul Hewitt)

In addition to Hewitt choosing the Dr. J movie as his go-to hoops flick, Flint also mentioned it as one of his faves, before settling on Hoosiers. Without an actual league to promote, NBATV has been showing The Fish That Saved Pittsburgh a lot recently. I’ll have to DVR it and check it out.

1 – One on One (Pat Skerry)

Skerry explained that One on One is a fictional movie about a small-town high school and its basketball phenom, played by Robby Benson, and suggested I watch it some day. I was more interested in what Skerry took from another movie: The new Towson coach battles his 6-year-old son with light sabers. “He wants to be a Jedi from Star Wars,” said Skerry, who uses the red saber, and admits that his green-wielding son often beats him.

1 – Hoop Dreams (Shaka Smart)

Ding, Ding, Ding. We have a winner.

I knew Smart was wise when he led VCU to the Final Four last year, but his choice in basketball movies is even more impressive. Hoop Dreams, a 1994 documentary about two Chicago teens and their path to college basketball is gritty, heart-wrenching and 100 percent genuine. (A little trivia via @Dukie95: Steve James, who wrote, directed and produced Hoop Dreams, is a 1977 JMU alum.)

“Real life, man,” Smart said. “Hoosiers was too, but I think Hoop Dreams relates much, much more to what we deal with in day-to-day reality.”

Shaka makes the best date. I wonder if he’d join me for a double-feature with Celtic Pride.

My favorite omissions: He Got Game, White Men Can’t Jump, Blue Chips.

Other notables: Teen Wolf, Basketball Diaries, Above The Rim, The Sixth Man, Coach Carter, Sunset Park, Space Jam, Like Mike, Glory Road, Semi-Pro, Eddie, Air Up There.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 5:13 pm

    This was an awesome read! thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. The CAA Book Club « Courtside

Leave a Reply

